Home > Uncategorized > Happy Birthday to Us!

Happy Birthday to Us!

The past week literally happened in the blink of an eye, and I just realized that we have not posted anything in almost a week. Initially it was done intentionally, as I was so in love with our last guest writer’s post  about multilingualism and autism. I wanted to leave it up at the top of the page for a few days because it is an underdiscussed and misunderstood topic that is very near and dear to my heart.

It’s been quite a busy week at work, to say the least, and so you can imagine my surprise when I just realized that I sailed right on past the first anniversary of this blog.

I might sound silly to say that I am excited about a blog anniversary, but I am. When I first initiated this blog last March, I began this journey as a way to blog out my heart’s content about a topic that I am overly passionate about-bilingual education. It’s tough to be in the field of bilingual education, and you tend to sometimes get beat up a lot and acquire many battle scars, so I had initially conceptualized this blog as a safe space to blog about my passion as well as to vent about the challenges facing those in the field of bilingual education.

When I first started, I didn’t post much and I wasn’t even sure if there was anyone out there in internet land who wanted to read a blog about multilingualism. I posted infrequently, and honestly didn’t even start posting on a frequent basis until a number of months ago.

And then suddenly we just exploded, meeting many other people who were interested in multilingualism and even had blogs about multilingualism! It’s been a safe haven for me to come to the internet every day in order to engage in interactions with people who have similar interests.

Since I started, a few collaborators are beginning to join the ranks and I am hopeful that you enjoy their stories as much as I have. Over the past couple of months I’ve been reconceptualizing the blog, and it will be moving towards  as a place where you will find:

  • Information about bilingual education
  • Information about raising bilingual children
  • Personal stories about bilingualism and multilingualism
  • Bilingualism in the news
  • Coming soon: Foreign film and translated literature reviews
  • Coming soon: Bilingualism and politics
  • And much, much more!

P.S. It’s been over a year ago since we bought hosting for this site, and we just haven’t gotten around to moving this blog over to its hosted domain. In the next few weeks, you will notice a slight change in the format of this blog and it may possibly be offline for a couple of days. Stay tuned!

Thank you for stopping by and reading!! Your support has been greatly appreciated.

-Melanie

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Isabeline
    April 7, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Congrats indeed! It has been a very interesting and necessary ‘virtual’ space and I’m sure it will keep on growing!

  2. April 7, 2010 at 3:32 am

    ¡Felicitaciones! Congratulations! So great to celebrate being in the bilingual world Melanie! Keep on sharing – we love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

