Home > Uncategorized > A Change in Direction

A Change in Direction

A bit ago I mentioned that I would be working on co-writing a Spanish as a foreign language textbook, but I’d like to retract that statement. I don’t want to really get into all of the details, but I have decided to not collaborate on the project for various reasons. I’m sure the publisher will not be too happy about it, but it is what it is.

I should have listened to my heart in the beginning.

Over the past year I have had it “up to here” (as I am pointing to my head) when it comes to some of the large educational publishing houses. They all seem to be experiencing many financial problems as they are consolidating and merging. So many of them have discontinued many of their materials in Spanish or we have to wait for two years to get curriculum that they promised to us. Or they make promises when we adopt the textbooks, claiming that everything that is in English will also be available in Spanish, and then when we finally get the materials we find out that not all materials are in Spanish.

Over the past year, I have been having problems at work with a large math publisher. First of all, we had to wait over an entire year and a half to get math materials in Spanish, and we only got them as a result of a big debacle that we caused by calling the state. Over the past couple of months, we have ordered California materials, yet they have sent the national curriculum. We have spent hours and wasted money, only to reorder and receive the same inaccurate order.

The representative can’t answer our questions. When the representative called the company, no one seemed to be able to answer our questions. Hello, is there anyone at the company who knows anything about their products? It seems that with many of these companies that the right hand doesn’t know what the left is doing, and this creates conflict and lack of quality.

I am sick and tired of our bilingual programs suffering and not being provided appropriate materials. The best interest of children and teachers are not taken into consideration with far too many of these companies.

It’s not about “making a buck” with me and I refuse to compromise my integrity or work ethic. I legitimately want to be able to help teachers, parents and administrators and I refuse to change my principles because money is dangled in front of my face. If I do make small change online with some of my web projects, I can assure you that all of it is reinvested back into the site through the purchasing of books and materials that I use to write content or for the cost for hosting web sites.

It’s for these reasons as well as other reasons that I have decided during my interaction with the Spanish publisher that I would rather not participate in this project.

And by the way, I am not saying that this particular publisher or all others are “bad” or anything of that sort. There are some very wonderful publishers out there who provide excellent service. In this particular case, there are a variety of reasons that are leading to my decision that really have nothing to do with the quality of the publisher’s product.

This means that I will just spend more time here on Multilingual Mania and some other projects that I have been working on. Lucky me!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

