Home > Giving Back to the Community > The Spirit of Giving-Let’s Make This World a Better Place

The Spirit of Giving-Let’s Make This World a Better Place

I’ve been dragging my heels with regard to the holiday spirit, for reasons that I elaborated in yesterday’s Grinch inspired post. Once I actually published my aversion to the holiday spirit and explained my reasons, I suddenly felt better. Ah, the power of therapeutic writing! I’ve decided that this year I am going to start my very own traditions by continuing to ignore everyone in my dysfunctional family while giving to and serving the neediest people who are lacking what so many many of us take for granted every day.

Over the past year in California, there have been enormous cuts to education and other services. School districts have been forced to have to do more with less resources and it has been hard on all of us. In my particular instance, we re-organized and I am now overseeing an additional department that was previously overseen by another manager in addition to my previous responsibilities. Every once in a while I admit that I have been victim to the “I’m now being expected to do more with less money and less people” type of thoughts in my head.

Then I remember that I still have a job. More responsibilities as well as increased stress, but a fulfilling job nonetheless. I have a roof over my head, food on my table and all of my basic needs are met. In fact, the only thing that I have worried about all weekend is how my central heat and air is broken during the cold season. Yet I am still fortunate enough to go to the store and buy a floor heater and electrical blankets while at the same time picking up a few Christmas presents for some of my friends.

If you are a personal friend or family member of mine who planned on buying me a holiday present, I would really prefer that you give a donation instead to GlobalGiving.com, a nonprofit organization dedicated to making this world a better place. For the cost of what you would spend on a present, your money could fund the education of a young girl for an entire year in another country or pay for supplies for enrichment programs in inner city schools here in the United States.

This is what I will be doing during this holiday season-giving and serving those most in need because when it all boils down to it I have everything I need and more. I challenge my readers to also donate to the GlobalGiving.com organization-even something as small as ten dollars goes a long way towards making this world a better place for children and others in need. In addition to donations, you can also set up a “wish list/gift registry” for yourself which you can pass on to your friends and family so that they can donate to the project of your choice. Of course all donations are 100% tax-deductible!

Here are some things that you can do with your donations or your “wish list” that you can ask your friends and family to donate to:

Social inclusion for children in Argentina: $10 Keeps One Child Off the Street to Join a “Murga”


$10 Keeps high risk inner-city students in school in the United States


$10 provides theater to 2,500 in-need New York children

You can find many more projects based in the United States and throughout the world on the Global Giving network. I urge you to donate at least ten dollars to an organization of your choice, and maybe even more if you have the means to do so. You can read about all of the projects that are in need by clicking on the following button:


Visit GlobalGiving.com

Additional Information:
GlobalGiving.com Gift Registries – Weddings, Birthdays, Or Just Because. Give the Gift of Giving

GlobalGiving.com Instant eCard Gift Certificate – Give the Gift of Changing the World – For As Little As $10

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

