Home > Uncategorized > Literacy, Language Development and Thanksgiving

Literacy, Language Development and Thanksgiving

I just blogged over on the ELD Strategies blog about how teachers can teach literacy and language development through the theme of Thanksgiving. Over the years that I have been in the teaching profession, I have often seen many flamboyant projects completed during the holidays, and many times the projects lack rigorous literacy objectives. I am of the persuasion that “every minute counts” when we are educating children. Therefore, I believe that instead of having coloring activities where students color a turkey or paste the feathers on a turkey picture we should instead build literacy and language development through literacy-based holiday activities. You can check out some of my literacy-related Thanksgiving tips that I posted on the ELD Strategies blog.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment