Home > Bilingualism > Giveaway: Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism

Giveaway: Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism

51ychk4hhxlI’ve blogged in the past about what is in my opinion one of the most comprehensive books out there regarding bilingual education and bilingualism. Now I’ll be giving one away to a lucky reader this week!!

The book is a bilingual education enthusiast’s dream come true. It’s easily accessible and interesting to both the bilingual education expert as well as someone just beginning to learn about bilingual education. It covers topics ranging from: bilingual language development, bilingualism and cognition, second language acquisition theories, history of bilingual education, bilingual education program models, bilingual education research and effectiveness, assessment of bilingual learners, deaf bilingual learners, bilingual special education, the politics of bilingualism, and many other topics.

If you are a bilingual teacher, bilingual administrator, a student learning about bilingual education, a parent raising a bilingual child, or a person interested in second language acquisition..this is the book for you!

I blogged in the past more extensively about the topics in each chapter, which you can read here. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I think that this book is one of the most comprehensive books about bilingual education and bilingualism that I have encountered!!

You can enter your name into the giveaway in one or more of the following ways:

  1. Leave a comment in the comment section about why this book is relevant to your life
  2. Tweet about the giveaway and leave your twitter name in the comment section
  3. Write about it on facebook, and leave a comment here that you did so
  4. Blog about the giveaway and leave your blog url in the comment section
  5. Leave a url of your favorite blog or website about bilingualism in the comment section
  6. Leave a comment about your favorite materials and resources that you use to teach a language other than English

You have up to six opportunities to enter your name into the giveway. Your name will be entered once if you leave a comment, twice if you perform two of the above, etc. Please leave a separate comment for each entry.

The giveaway will end on Sunday, October 25, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time. The winner must be located in the United States.

Categories: Bilingualism
  1. liz
    October 20, 2009 at 11:23 am

    This book is relevant to me because I am trying to study to be a bilingual teacher. I will facebook it later and let you know when I do!

  2. October 20, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Wonderful review of this book. It is a hot topic in education and around the world.

  3. October 20, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Blog Daily Education Headlines
    http://gokate1.blogspot.com/

  4. October 20, 2009 at 12:02 pm
  5. October 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Learn Spanish fast with Transparent Language™ software http://ow.ly/vnyP

  6. October 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I would love to read this book! I’m raising a bilingual boy and soon another one too! Everyday is more and more interesting and full of challenges. Thanks!

  7. October 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I twitted about the giveaway @darielacruz

  8. October 22, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    My favorite blog about raising bilingual kids: Spanglishbaby.com

  9. October 22, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Favorite resource to teach Spanish at the moment:
    Getting bilingual books or just books in Spanish at the Library. My boy gets excited with them every time because they are constantly new!

  10. November 17, 2009 at 9:24 am

    It is late and I’m living in Italy, so.. no book:)
    However, I’m a mother of 21 month bilingual (I hope so) child (Italian-Russian(me)) and I’m writing my blog about raising this beautiful boy. I would love to read your book one day!
    Un saluto from Rome,
    SL
    http://www.designdelbilinguismo.wordpress.com

    • multilingualmania
      November 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Maybe next time! I would love to read your blog, but I don’t know italian! I am working so hard to figure it out and I can understand a little because I know Spanish. I would love to hear more about your story!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

