Home > Education > Bilingual Education Resources

Bilingual Education Resources

languages2For those of you who are interested in learning more or refining your knowledge of bilingual and multilingual education, I recommend the following resources:

  • Bilingual Research Journal online: The Bilingual Research Journal has online archives of articles from 1992-2006
  • James Crawford’s Language Policy Website and Emporium: James Crawford has an abundance of information on bilingual education,  language policy and information pertaining to the education of English learners
  • Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism: I’ve blogged about this book before. This is the MUST-HAVE most essential book regarding bilingual and multilingual education, language policy, second language education, bilingualism and cognition, etc that every single person must have. I’m totally serious here. This book is great for the person new to the bilingual education community and is also very useful to those who consider themselves to be experts. You MUST have a copy of this book and if you have an old edition you have got to buy the new edition. A couple of you have purchased the book from my Multilingual Mania store, and I’d like to hear some of your thoughts on the book. P.S. Thank you for purchasing it from my store because any proceeds earned from the store will be used to purchase materials that I will review for you on the blog, in order to bring you the best resources and information about bilingual and multilingual education!!
  • National Association of Bilingual Education (NABE): They’ve got a great language journal.

As to what I’ve been up to lately, I just bought the following book and started reading it:

  • Language, Space, and Power: A Critical Look at Bilingual Education: So far I’ve read the first two chapters. It’s not the typical “Dual Immersion 101” informational book-it is an ethnographic study of a Dual Immersion classroom. The theoretical base that the author uses is postmodern  theory, so it’s a bit heavy on theory in the beginning of the book. It gets more lucid after the initial theoretical base is provided. I’ll keep you updated as to my thoughts about the book as I continue reading!! I’m just happy that it’s a study that takes place in a dual language classroom. I really love to read about issues of language and power
  • In one of the comment sections, a producer left her information about a documentary she produced regarding bilingual education and English-only language policy. This week the movie is premiering at the San Francisco Film Festival. It seems like it’s a really exciting and interesting documentary about the political issues that surround bilingual/multilingual education. I contacted the producer about the possibility of purchasing the film, and she informed me that it would be released for sale towards the end of the summer. I’m really excited about it and I can’t wait to get my hands on it so that I can organize a public screening. Anything that has to do with multilingual education is pretty much an obsession for me. The documentary is called “Speaking in Tongues” and you can find more information about it here. It’s not  too often that you come across documentaries about language. 

Soon I will be posting the newest giveaway. Stay tuned!!

Categories: Education
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

