Dual Immersion Must-Reads

I think that I have pretty much established that I am a bilingual education fanatic. I am feeling so happy, because in a matter of just a few days I have managed to meet some really great bilingual and multilingual advocates online! I feel such a sense of community and I am really looking forward to coming home each day and blogging about multilingual topics galore!! 

Lately I have been mulling over whether or not I should return to the doctoral program. I studied for two years in the program and about one and a half years ago I took a leave of absence from the program. I won’t get into all the details, but to make a very long story short, I just find it very difficult to be in institutions that don’t value diversity. I keep asking myself lately though if I should return to school and finish my studies. I was initially very interested in bilingual education, specifically Dual Immersion programs. My area of emphasis was on the education of African American students in the dual language setting, as well as issues of power and inequality that can be manifested in Dual Immersion programs.

Last week I came upon a really great blog called Spanglishbaby.com. They did a number of articles on Dual Immersion programs and if you are not familiar with the program then you should mosey on over there and check it out. In a nutshell, language majority speakers (i.e., native English-speakers) and language minority students (i.e., Spanish or another target language) are integrated in Dual Immersion programs and are taught through two languages. There are a number of program model designs for the Dual Immersion model.

Anyhow, I personally work with Dual Immersion programs in my professional capacity, and I have the Dual Immersion bug. The articles over at Spanglishbaby brought back a memory that there are many “must do” readings on my list regarding Dual Immersion. So, in keeping with my manic and obsessive compulsive self, I am going to challenge myself to a read-a-thon regarding everything dual and immersion. 

My first goal is that July I want to have read every single article, book or resource on the Center for Applied Linguistic’s dual language bibliography. I don’t honestly think it will be that difficult to read everything because I have already read a lot of what is on the bibliography.

My second goal to read the entire Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition immersion bibliography (i.e., “one way immersion” where language majority speakers are immersed in a program that teaches the minority language and may not be integrated with native speakers of the target language). I’d like to have that bibliography finished by July as well.

It all sounds so simple, like not much reading, but I have tons of reading that I need to do for other projects. I am creating an English Learner Professional Development institute training that I want to submit to the state to be approved as a provider of staff development. I’m also going to be working on writing a grant for a “three-way immersion program”, where the emphasis will be Spanish, English and Mandarin and students are learning all three languages. I’m sure that my readings will help me for the grant. Maybe it will help me decide if I want to continue my doctoral studies as well. 

I’ll update soon with the first book that I have just started reading. I just don’t happen to have the title on me at the moment. I’m really going to enjoy reading all of the works on the bibliographies and then blogging about some of my ideas regarding the readings.

A must-read for anyone who is interested in Dual Immersion programs, bilingual education, and/or second language acquisition and English language development should read Colin Baker’s Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism!

  1. April 17, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    We are the filmmakers of the forthcoming documentary, SPEAKING IN TONGUES premiering at the SFIFF 2009, which tells the story of four diverse kids becoming bilingual in the public schools in a time when 31 states have passed English Only initiatives. As their city debates the provocative notion that speaking a foreign language can be a national asset, we see how they face the challenges and delights of becoming fluent in two languages. Through their eyes, we witness how speaking more than one language changes them, their families, their communities, and maybe even the world.

    To learn more about the film, you can watch our 2 minute trailer at:
    http://www.speakingintonguesfilm.info
    or read the description on the San Francisco International Film Festival website, where the film is premiering in April: http://fest09.sffs.org/films/film_details.php?id=84

    Regards,

    Marcia Jarmel and Ken Schneider
    PatchWorks Films

    • The Unapologetic Polyglot
      April 18, 2009 at 12:21 am

      This looks fabulous!!

  2. April 21, 2009 at 4:50 am

    OMG. You are so helping me finish my doctorate. Seems like you should just go ahead and finish since you’re already doing all this reading!!

  3. The Unapologetic Polyglot
    April 22, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Tell me about it Ana Gloria!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

