Home > Bilingual Education, Education > Another Film on Bilingual Education

Another Film on Bilingual Education

A while back a producer left a comment on the blog about a documentary called “Speaking in Tongues” regarding bilingual education that they had recently produced. I contacted the producer and asked how I could purchase a copy of the documentary so that I could blog about it, or how I could purchase a copy of the documentary in order to hold a screening in Southern California. The producer told me that it won’t be available for purchase until August. Thank you, good bye. (I’ll bite my tongue about the fact of spamming multiple blogs about the documentary and then not making it available to the people whom you spammed so that they can write about it). In the spirit of solidarity with the philosophy of bilingual education, I will wait patiently until August.

One of my colleagues just told me about another short film about the education of language minority students. It is called “Immersion” and it was also filmed in San Francisco (like “Speaking in Tongues”. My colleague told me that she heard a rumor that the film would be posted on youtube on June 5th, but I can’t seem to find it so maybe it’s just a rumor that we heard. Nonetheless, their website has a little intro video as to why they made the short film about a child named Moises who same to the United States and was placed in an all English structured English immersion program. If the rumor that the short film will be uploaded to youtube proves to be true, I’ll post an update.

In the meantime, you can find the introduction video to “Immersion” here.

Ciao!!

  1. June 22, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I stumbled upon this post while searching for a different documentary on the effect of the “English only” movement. I wanted to let you know that the film is posted on youtube now.

  2. July 12, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Hi,

    As the producer of SPEAKING IN TONGUES, I wanted to let you know that the film is now for sale via our website at: http://www.speakingintonguesfilm.info. Since we can’t ship until the middle of August, we are offering discounts on both institutional and community groups rates, if you purchase the dvd before August 1.

    You can watch the trailer on the website too, or on You Tube at: http://www.youtube.com/PatchWorksProds.

    Thanks and sorry for the delay.

    Marcia Jarmel
    PatchWorks Films

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

